• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team

Banana warehouse/bbc masterchef building

Seanyb1986

master brummie
Im sean, im a digger driver from birmingham that likes my history, last year i was working on the beorma quarter, some may remember me
Well from today i am working on the old banana warehouse as it becomes part of the new bbc complex
Some very interesting old bits of archaeology here, lovely old building
Updates as we go

Attachments

• Screenshot_20230830_100028_Samsung Internet.jpg
    Screenshot_20230830_100028_Samsung Internet.jpg
    949.8 KB · Views: 39
Good to hear from you again Sean. This might be of help. Look forward to any historical info you can post. Viv

No it it the file not the camera.
Look here for how to resize

If you can't then come back and we will see if the files can be emailed.

hi sean welcome back..if you are still having problems posting photos i can send you my email add via private message..you can email the photos to me and i will happily post them for you...just say the word

lyn

Just been reading about Geest premises I knew of in Lincolnshire where staff could remember snakes also. This banana importer had ripening sheds in different parts of the country. So was the Birmingham warehouse also a ripening shed or was it just a link in the transportation of bananas?

Phyllis Nicklin captured the warehouse in late 1968 (see blue dot behind the bridge. Original photo also attached). Her photograph was of the Digbeth Branch Canal and the Birmingham and Fazeley Canal looking east towards the Rea Valley. The viewpoint was from the railway embankment at the Gun Barrel Proof House (on the right), near Curzon Street and Fazeley Street.