• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team

Magnet Club Greek Orthodox Church Stockland Green

stevenjoes

Brummie babby
How do all. I'm a newbie, love this site though.

Me and my Girlfriend have just brought a house on the northcote development which basically is on the site of the MEB in Stockland Green / Brookvale on George Rd.

Behind our houses on a bit of a walk we came across the Greek Orthodox Church and from what little i can tell it used to be the magnet club and / or banqueting suites.

I was wondering if anyone can shed any light on what it was built for and why it has the land it does? Im only 28 so i really dont know much about the area but its obvious it was a far grander building at some point and that there was a dedicated football team there once as the stands are still there!

Thanks for any help

Steve I don't know the Greek Orthodox Church you refer to, but the Magnet Club was in the grounds of the old GEC - I think it was their social club, I went to many dances there in the 1950s and 60s. I never got much of look at the outside of the building as it was always dark when we went, but from memory it looked purpose built, I certainly never thought it resembled a church.