• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team

Don clive...lock keeper

Astoness

TRUE BRUMMIE MODERATOR
Staff member
hi folks.. Because of my love of the canals over the past few weeks i have been chatting to one of our members don clive who for the last 12 years of his working life until his retirement in 1995 was lock keeper at curdworth on the fazeley canal..:) he very kindly sent me an article written about him in the new ways magazine and i found it so interesting that i asked don if could have his permission to post it for you to read for yourselves...don thinks that it wont be of much interest to anyone but i have told him i am sure it will be as there are quite a few of us interested in the canals...what a lovely way to end your working days..:) i am also posting a pic of don and his wife joans lovely lock keepers cottage taken in the winter time...don still owns his own canal boat which he named englands glory...:)

lyn

don and joans lock keepers cottage...thanks for sharing your story with us don....although i bet you could write a book about your experiences...:)

lyn

Wish my job interviews went like that - of course they are of interest - great story & lovely photo's Lyn - Thanks

hi aidan...what a wonderful life for those into canals....im so pleased that don allowed me to start this thread...

lyn

Thanks for posting that lyn,its really interesting to know how people come to do the jobs they do.It must have been a culture shock
to work somewhere so quiet after working for a big company.Fancy having your own canal boat as well,brilliant.
lynne