• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team

Cafes in and around Birmingham

BobS

master brummie
Cafes.

I have just written about Frank's cafe on Heath Street and looking through all posts on the site there doesn't appear to be a lot about the cafes of Brum of which there were a lot.Me being a lorry driver I used to use loads of them,not only in Brum but all over the country.My favourite one for sausage and tomato sandwiches was the Minerva in Digbeth.They were to die for and only 1/6. O.K.it was along time ago. I have tried sos and tom all over the country but I have never tasted any that came anywhere near them.I had a friend who used to run the Last Chance on Lichfield road and I could tell a few stories about that but maybe at a later date.He also ran the Blues Cafe by the Blues ground and one in Smethwick on Rabone Lane, right next to the Star and Commercial pub.

the Drome cafe

The Drome cafe on Kingsbury road.How long has that place been going?
It been there as long as I can remember, and thats been a long time.

Warner St Cafe which was near the Flyover, all the Reps who worked for Eskimo Frozen Foods out of Heath Mill Lane met there each afternoon before knocking off, early 1960s:)

Cafe in Park Lane