• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team

Searching for The Retreat

maggie4848

proper brummie kid
Hello...I am a Brummie Newbie. My birth certificate states my address at birth was, 2 The Retreat, Bordesley Park Road. Where can I find a copy of this place circa 1947. Does anyone know what exactly this place was? Also looking for a picture of Holy Family Church, 763 Coventry Road, Small Heath, in Birmingham where I was baptised. Any help would be much appreciated.

The retreat was a set of terraces off Bordesley Park road, all accessed by a road/ alleyway called the retreat. The 25 houses in The Retreat are in blue on the c 1903 map below. The name Retreat is marked on the map. You should note that there is also another place, a street, called The Retreat in Aston.

map_c_1903_The_Retreat___Bordesley_Park_RoadA.jpg

hello Maggie I was born on bordesley park road no 127 opposite mrs bignalls shop the entrance to the retreat can be seen here to the right of mr prettys sweet shopbordesley park road 1.jpg

22 (2).jpg11.jpghere,s two pics of the holy family church cov rd taken from google earth not sure how old the present church is though

I still live in Brum Maggie by the Journey's End pub Yardley was born in Charles Road 1948 what about you mhemery