• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team
  • HI folks the server that hosts the site completely died including the Hdd's and backups.
    Luckily i create an offsite backup once a week! this has now been restored so we have lost a few days posts.
    im still fixing things at the moment so bear with me and im still working on all images 90% are fine the others im working on now
    we are now using a backup solution

Marston Green Hospital Nurses

Pat56

master brummie
I'm new to Birmingham History Forums so thought I would begin here.

The photograph that goes with this post (see below) has caused a bit of a stir in our family recently and it is the photograph I'm seeking help with.

image.png Hi All,
Long story, cut short .........

I'm a member of a West Bromwich family (hope that doesn't alienate me) and I have a sister that recently came across this photo "by chance". The photo (taken in New Jersey) has caused a stir because everyone who has seen it, agrees that the woman on the right is our mother.

Our mother passed away in 1967 when we were all very young and our dad, as was often the case back then, hardly ever spoke about her. Dad passed way a few years back leaving us knowing little about our family past and particularly our mom.

The photo became more intriguing when we discovered it to be held in both, the archives of the New York Daily newspaper and Getty Images. Email inquiries to the NY daily are unanswered!

The Birmingham connection ......