• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team
  • HI folks the server that hosts the site completely died including the Hdd's and backups.
    Luckily i create an offsite backup once a week! this has now been restored so we have lost a few days posts.
    im still fixing things at the moment so bear with me and im still working on all images 90% are fine the others im working on now
    we are now using a backup solution

How to build a website?

F

flounder

Hi all,
i am new to all this searching stuff, so new i only started today and with the help of some wonderful people on here, i have found out quite a lot in such a short space of time, its completley took me by surprise.
Right to the problen in question, How do i get my own website? Will it cost me anything, money wise? And how much? Is it hard?
I would like to do it for my grandad who is 83, and has been in his hightot today with the info i have gained today about his ancestors, so if i can get it all together in one place, rather than the little book i am making notes in at the moment, also i can then print it all and put it into a little folder for him, so he look at it when he wants to.

Many thanks
Wendy.xxx

Great stuff Wendy, what a lucky man your granddad is. I'm sure you will find help here.

Hi Wendy

If you are just wanting to build a family tree there are a number of sites that allow you to do this free, there are as many things you can do with them including printing your tree from them, here are a few to start

TribalPages.com

www.GenesReunited.co.uk

www.ancestry.co.uk/Family_Tree

You can also buy a programme just for your computer such as Family Tree Maker, there are others, hope this helps

bren

Hi and welcome