• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team

Henry Pooley & Sons

Gordinski

Brummie babby
I'm trying to find any photos or illustrations of the Henry Pooley & Sons factory in Heath Mill Lane. The main factory was listed as being in Liverpool but they transferred to Birmingham. Eventually they were taken over by W. & T. Avery.

Thanks

I was an apprentice at W&T Avery and remember Pooley as being a subsidiary. If I remember correctly they painted their scales green as opposed to the Avery post office red. From what I've seen on Google Avery took over Pooley in 1913

Henry Pooley & Son was famous for having a virtual monopoly of making weighing machines for railway goods yards etc. Many still in existance especially in preserved railways.

Head office moved to 72 John Bright Street. Company was absorbed by Avery's in 1913 but continued to trade as a separate firm.

It's a while since I went down Heath Mill Lane but there are still quite a few old factories there. If no one comes up with a phot of factory perhaps some one could check location via trade directory - just possible that factory is still there and could check on Google Maps/street view or have a walk down there?

I asked as I was looking later than that, but looking at Kellys directory for earlier period (date is publication date and probably referes to year before)
Pooley Henry & Son Limited,, scale & weighing, machine makers, 82 Worcester St
Pooley Henry & Son Lim. scale & weighing machine makers, 11 Temple street; 84 Latimer street & Liverpool street.TN701; T A "Pooley, Birmingham"