• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team
  • HI folks the server that hosts the site completely died including the Hdd's and backups.
    Luckily i create an offsite backup once a week! this has now been restored so we have lost a few days posts.
    im still fixing things at the moment so bear with me and im still working on all images 90% are fine the others im working on now
    we are now using a backup solution

Atkins Family - 1900?

Gillian Atkins

master brummie
I hope someone out there can help :2funny:  I'm looking for information on the Atkins family in particular my Grandad John Charles Atkins who lived in Aston and was born round about 1900. He was I believe an electrician by trade.  He had three children: Cedric George Atkins b1925, Jack Atkins and Dennis Atkins.  I also know that his first wife died and he remarried a Voilet Gertrude Bolton and they both lived in Aston.  I think they may have run a pub or possibly a Labour Club.

Any information would be welcomed as I don't have any family left to ask :'(

Thanks  :-* :crazy2:

Hello Gillian,

I'm not related to this family, but have just taken a look at the BMD indexes- you may already have this:-

John C Atkins married Elizabeth M Purcell in 1922 (Jan- March) Aston. Ref: 6d 495

They had three sons:-

John C Atkins born 1922 (oct- Dec) Aston. Ref: 6d 852 (22nd September 1922- Oct 1995)

Cedric G Atkins born 1925 (Apr- June) Birmingham. Ref: 6d 952 (4th May 1925 - Feb 1991)

Dennis Atkins born 1927 (Apr- June) Birmingham North. Ref: 6d 632

Elizabeth died either in child birth or shortly after Dennis' birth:-

Elizabeth M Atkins died 1927 (Apr- June) aged 28 Birmingham North. Ref 6d 400