• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team

Search results

1. Gwynfor

Crockett & lowe

Hi Harry, Yes I know of Andrew Crockett, he was the son of Bill Crockett who was my boss, when I was an apprentice I went to there house with one of the other pattern makers to put up a new fence in there back garden, I remember meeting Andrew & his Brother there one day, they were only about 10...
  2. Gwynfor

Simpson family (Jack, former boxer from 1940s)

Hi, My wife told me that she remembers going to see one of Uncle Jack's fights with her Father when she was a young girl, the fight took place at a pub in the garden, Jack & Alice lived in Cooksey Lane, Kingstanding, Birmingham for most of there married life and they used to go to the Dears Leap...
  3. Gwynfor

Crockett & lowe

I started work as an apprentice Pattern Maker at Crockett & Lowe Ltd in Nelson Street in January 1961, not long after I started I moved to another of Crockett's factories in Broad St, after a few years we moved over the road to Bishopgate Street where I stayed till 1969, Bill Crockett had...
  4. Gwynfor

Wrensons

When I started work as an apprentice pattern maker in 1961 I used to fetch the errands for my fellow workers and the factory was a couple of doors away from Wrensons in Broad Street, I remember going in the shop every day to buy the men's lunch, I used to buy butter which was sold loose and...
  5. Gwynfor

I have attached some photos of Jack Simpson with Alice & her Family
  6. Gwynfor