• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team

Search results

1. T

The Calculating Bureau 223 Bristol Road

The entrance we used was to the left of the photo, the calculating bureau still had its office at the back, the NSPCC at the front.
  2. T

I also worked at their new offices, I think in Bromsgrove Street, off Hurst Street. They had computers there, they were in an air conditioned room, only the engineers were allowed access to them. They were very large, with spool tapes on the top front. All very new, I left soon after.
  3. T

I was an comptometer apprentice here, my dad paid for me to have lessons on a Saturday morning, after I left school I was apprenticed here while they trained me. I still have my indentures. We used to work out the dividends for quite a few Coops, you had the comp operators, then the next section...
  4. T

One for the ladies.

With my daughter it was dried prunes, I could only eat three or four, otherwise I had to suffer the consequences .
  5. T

Muddyman family

There was a Muddymans greengrocers shop on the corner of Longbridge Road & Balsall Heath Rd, this was in the 50/60s. I think somewhere on here a photo was posted.
  6. T

Birmingham's Working Horses

I am sure that my dad used to take me to Calthorpe Park for the May Day parade of horses and wagons, I was only little, maybe the 1950's. I think there was some sort of competition between the participants.
  7. T

Balsall Heath Police

I seem to remember the yard to the right was something to do with the council (going back a few years), I think men who were on the dole, had to go and help with work round the neighbourhood.
  8. T

Chelmsley Wood on the box.