• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team

FRYER Family of 43 Nelson Road, Aston, Birmingham - 1920

rprfryer

proper brummie kid
I was born in Bloxwich, Staffordshire.

I have been tracing my family tree since November 04, 2004.

My paternal great grandfather, Henry Joseph Fryer, hatter, was born, about 1843 or 1845, in Wellington, Shropshire.

His wife, my paternal great grandmother, Jane Griffiths (Fryer), was born, about 1847, in Bilston, Staffordshire.

They were married, in the December Quarter of 1869, at St. Bartholomew Church, Wednesbury, Staffordshire.

At the time of the 1881 Census, they were living at 144 Vicarage Road, Aston, Warwickshire.

At the time of the 1891 Census, they were living at 160 Vicarage Road, Aston, Warwickshire.

His brother, Robert Fryer, wholesale hatter manager, was born, about 1841, in Ireland.

My other paternal great grandfather, Alfred Bryon, painter and glazier, was born, about 1838, in Birmingham, Warwickshire.

His wife, my other paternal great grandmother, Frances Ellen Hickman (Fryer), was born, about 1845, in Birmingham, Warwickshire.

They were married, on Monday, September 07, 1868, at Aston Juxta Birmingham, Warwickshire.

In 1920, my paternal grandparents, Harry Victor Reginald Fryer, carriage builder and metal worker, and Emma Bryon (Fryer) ran a shop, downstairs, at 43 Nelson Road, Aston, Birmingham, Warwickshire.

They also used to sell to Aston Villa Football Club fans, outside Villa Park, before the bus route was extended.

My father even played several practice matches for Aston Villa Football Club.

Apparently, Emma also ran a shop, at her parents’ home, at 6 Court, 8 Bevington Road, Aston, Birmingham, Warwickshire.