• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team

suejoy

:angel:hello there, I'm new to this but I'm hoping someone can help.
My sister Norma Mary Green died in 1938, 2 years before I was born, and is buried in Witton Cemetary. I spent many hours as a child there, taken by my mother. On her grave was a child angel scattering flowers made by Roddis & Nourse. To me it was my sister.
About 1997 the statue was sawn off the plinth and stolen. I know no-one will have a photograph of it, but it was quite a popular child statue, and I wondered if anyone has a picture of one like it. It was always on a child grave, a little stone angel with flowers in her dress and one in her hand. I would love a photo of it and wondered if anyone had one from Witton or anywhere else.:angel:

Hello Sue I have many memorial photo's but mainly in Key Hill Cemetery. I have heard of Roddis and Nourse as they were a Birmingham company but dodn't have a photo of this memorial. I will keep my eyes peeled for one of these memorials now though. I am so angry and upset to learn of what happened to the memorial on your sisters grave. I always feel people who do wicked things like this have comeback at some time. Hopefully we can locate a picture for you. Best wishes Wendy.

Is it like this one, Sue
angel_2.jpg

Hi SueJoy,
I have recently started to look into my wifes tree. Her Aunt died in 1938 aged 17. She had a beautiful grave in Witton with an Angel on it. It was still intact in 1960 when the wifes Gran (the childs mother) was buried in there.
At some point late 1970's - this was taken off and no doubt decorates somes ones garden!
It's not scattering ashes, but was still a 1938 Angel.
Witton_92-53996_Mary_Shore_1938.jpg