• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team

Walters family, RWR in WW1

R

RHancox

Hi there :),

I am researching some family members who fought in the Royal Warwickshire Regiment (RWR) in the Great War. These include my great, great uncle, George Henry WALTERS and his son Frederick Ernest WALTERS. I have pieced together some information, but would be grateful if anyone has any further information which they could share with me to add to what I know.

1) George Henry WALTERS, by trade a jouneyman tailor, of 22 Chandos St., Leamington Priors, Warwickshire enlisted into the RWR (Private 2903) on 22/8/1890 at Warwick, serving at Malta (16/11/95 to 20/1/97), Egypt (21/1/97 to 3/2/98) and South Africa (24/11/99 to 20/8/02) at which date he was discharged to the army reserves. He re-enlisted in 1914 and served in France / Belgium for two years (Sgt 265025 then CQMS 355436) before being invalided home on 7/12/1916. Interestingly, George Henry WALTERS is listed as being with the RWR in the Tower of London garrison at the time of the 1901 census. His address in the Birmingham Roll of Hounour is given as Victoria Place, Norman St., Winson Green, Birmingham.