• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team

Renovating Stairs

AMW

master brummie
Hi

I would love to renovate these stairs in some way rather than hide them with carpet as they have been until now. I notice some of the stairs are cracked, they also creak in places. Would anyone be able to advise please.

Best wishes
Alison

thumbnail_20240826_115339.jpgthumbnail_20240826_115315.jpgthumbnail_20240826_115310.jpgthumbnail_20240826_115305.jpgthumbnail_20240826_115248.jpg

i am no expert but you made need a carpenter in to sort out those cracks..you made need some treads replacing..good luck

lyn

• Appreciate
Reactions: AMW
im a joiner
old creaking stairs is a part of there character what
im looking at are photos of what we call the rise and go
depends if you are going to paint them or carpet them if you carpet them with a thick under lay that will reduce the creaking you hear as long as you have no dry rot or worm you don t have a safety issue
it is hard to see any
problems by looking at photos

Last edited:
  • Appreciate
im a joiner
old creaking stairs is a part of there character want im looking at are photos of what we call the risr and go
depends if you are going to paint them or carpet them if you carpet them with a thick under lay that will reduce the creaking you hear as long as you have no dry rot or worm you don t have a safety issue
it is hard to see any
problems by looking at photos
Hello Donbogen

If I remember rightly you gave me that lovely comment on restoring my wooden kitchen worktops, thank you :)