• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team

1918 Parrish

peggy72

proper brummie kid
Hi all,
Im not very good with military look ups so please forgive me!
I have found on the absent voters list in 1918 John William Parrish (my g.grandfather possibly) registered at 3 back 34 Alexandra Street: 215700 Gnr. RAF.
I presume this to be his Number? and position and Regiment?
There seems to be a lot of soildiers registered at this address? Can someone tell me why please?
I have also found on the National Roll:
Parrish J.W. Gunner RFA (note previously says RAF is one a typing error or are they not the same person?)
This tells me that this JW volunteered but was refused on medical grounds but was then called up in 1917, he served in France and Germany and demobilised in 1919.
It then has an address 79, Anderton Street, Ladywood, Birmingham (Is this his home address?)
I have a sub to FMP but am struggling to find any service records.
If someone could find these, and or answer any of theses questions I would be most grateful.

Thanks for reading

I think it should be RFA [Royal Field Artillery] the RAF wasn't formed till sometime in the 20's

Nick.

PS. the GNR stands for Gunner

Last edited:
I would say the John William Parrish of the Royal Field Artillery 215700, is the same person who is mentioned in the roll call...as for the address I cannot really say....the latter could be his home address...., I cannot find his war service record, this due to most of them being destroyed in WW2....

Thank you Aston Lad,
without the service record I have no idea if this is my JW then, or indeed if the 2 JWs are the same ones?

Thank you all for your help tho x