• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team

Weather: Winter snow 1967/68 or 1968/69

Diane1947

master brummie

What winter snow 1967/1968 or 1968/1969 stopped the buses running?​

I have been racking my brain to see what winter the snow was so bad that when I came off night duty my bus managed to get to Perry Barr, and could not go any further, and I had to walk home from there to Kingstanding.
Looking back I did not get home to about 12 noon, but was on duty again that night.
The weather was still bad, but the buses were running, and I managed to get back to Dudley Road.
I was a pupil nurse then, and worked 2 Christmas‘s in a row, and so it was one of the 2 winters in the title of the thread. Any idea thanks

Last edited by a moderator:

1968​

1968 (8th/9th January): BIG-BEN STOPS; SNOW PLOUGHS TRAPPED!