• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team
  • HI folks the server that hosts the site completely died including the Hdd's and backups.
    Luckily i create an offsite backup once a week! this has now been restored so we have lost a few days posts.
    im still fixing things at the moment so bear with me and im still working on all images 90% are fine the others im working on now
    we are now using a backup solution

VICARAGE ROAD ASTON

Eric
Its easily done. Where I live now, if it is necessary (say because of wrongly delivered letter), that I have to go to another numbered house on the street, then I hav eto think carefully which way the numberings go

Hi Eric, sorry I'm new to this. My dad lived at 10 Bk 79 Vicarage Road, from 1926 till about 1944. Can you point out exactly where that house would have been on the map? You may have known my dad or my family, they were the Benton family. There was Arthur, Frank, Amy and my dad Ron.
My mother was born at number 11 Vicarage Grove in 1915, her maiden name was Edna Buxton, she had two sisters, Iris, and Joyce, she was known as Jessie, my grandparents names were Harriet and Jesse, the reason that Joyce was known as Jessie was because of her dads name.

My mother was born at number 11 Vicarage Grove in 1915, her maiden name was Edna Buxton, she had two sisters, Iris, and Joyce, she was known as Jessie, my grandparents names were Harriet and Jesse, the reason that Joyce was known as Jessie was because of her dads name.