• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team

Unicorn Pub, Digbeth

KatieRex

Brummie babby
Hello everyone,
I am new to this and wonder if anyone can help me. I am researching family history and trying to find out about "The Unicorn pub" 447 High Street Deritend. My parents were the publicans for this pub (not sure for how long) but are on The Midlands electoral register 1950 at the Unicorn.
I would love to find a picture of the pub but any info would be appreciated
Katie

hello katie and welcome...cant say as i have heard of this pub...will have look for any photos of it and i am sure other members will also

lyn

Post 121 mentions the Unicorn.

Below a map shows the position of the Unicorn at 46 Digbeth in red. the 1949 &1950 Kellys (which would refer to 1948 and 1949) list landlord as William Thomas Sheppard. Although Digbeth, Bordesley High St and Deritend High St are listed separately, they are numbered together and often confused.

map c1950 showing position of unicorn pub.jpg

nice to have a map showing this pub mike but unfortunately i cant find any photos of it which is unusual considering it was still there in the 50s

lyn

Below a map shows the position of the Unicorn at 46 Digbeth in red. the 1949 &1950 Kellys (which would refer to 1948 and 1949) list landlord as William Thomas Sheppard. Although Digbeth, Bordesley High St and Deritend High St are listed separately, they are numbered together and often confused.

View attachment 138789
Thank you for the map and info. My father is William Thomas Shepherd and its great to see anything to do with him. Katie