• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team

Slaughter Houses

G

GrAfiK_248

Hi there everyone! I've come across from ssc, to ask you guys for a little help on my architecture project.

I'm currently studying Birmingham, in terms of its history in markets and have digged up a lot of info on the topic. One of my chosen sites could be the Bordesley cattle station site which i am very intrigued about. At the moment, this has lead me to locate the slaughter houses which were in the area, since many livestock would come from rail and continue to smithfield. I was wondering if there is anymore info on slaughter houses specifically along bradford street or cheapside - if there are some still existing premises (derelict or not).

These are the following sites which i have found that give a hint or two about slaughter houses
- https://www.midlandspubs.co.uk/birmingham/bradfordstreet.htm
- https://epapers.bham.ac.uk/507/
- https://www.anchorinndigbeth.co.uk/walk-one.htm
- https://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=22969

Much appreciated :)

You will find quite a lot on the markets in the forum, but might have to poke around a bit. In 1889 (see map), most of the slaughtering seems tom have been carried out in gloucester st. By 1902-11 (dates as given on map) it seems to have moved to the end of Bradford st , (almost) next (almost) to the Birmingham Arms Pub (PH on map) This is long gone, but you can see 2 pictures of the frontage c 1970 in post 92 at https://forum.birminghamhistory.co.uk/showthread.php?t=23229
Mike

slaughter_house_bradford_st_1902-11.jpg

market_slaughter_houses_c_1889.JPG