• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team

Marston Green Cottage Homes 1920's

P

patricianuk

Hi, I am a newbie and not even a Brummie - but my Dad was. He and his brother were orphaned when my Dad was about 6 or 7 and they were brought up in the Cottage homes at Marston Green during the mid 1920s. Does anyone know anything about the Cottage homes? I'm at a complete loss as Dad died in 1995 and I only found this much information after Mum passed away a month ago. I know quite a lot about Mum's family but next to nothing about Dad's - we think that my brother and I may be the last in the line to be born 'Newton'. Thank you.

Pat from Doncaster, Welcome

Hello & Welcome Pat & Condolences for recent loss of Mom :)
Welcome from Brum to Doncaster,, your Dad a nipper in Brum
you,re sure to get loads of help from ppl on here ,,
May i suggest that you post your Dads Name & date of birth (approx Ok)
and you have already stated mid 1920,s Cottage Homes, Marston Green,
Post it in the "Surnames" section &/or Trying to Find sections,
Put as much as you know , all little clues do help,

ps Marston Green is right near Nat Exhibition Centre & close to Airport,
Sure someone on here will have info on the Orphanage(s) situ there.
Cheers John Y :cool:

Hi welcome to the forum, from an ex-pat downunder.:)

Try this 'Thread on the Forum' , it has some good information about viewing records on the 'M/G /C Homes' also some pic's of the 'Homes':
https://forum.birminghamhistory.co.uk/showthread.php?t=1352&highlight=Cottage