• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team
  • HI folks the server that hosts the site completely died including the Hdd's and backups.
    Luckily i create an offsite backup once a week! this has now been restored so we have lost a few days posts.
    im still fixing things at the moment so bear with me and im still working on all images 90% are fine the others im working on now
    we are now using a backup solution

Lorry Driver Shortage

S

Stitcher

I see in todays newspaper that we are short of lorry drivers. I have posted before that I was a lorry driver for a number of years and I really enjoyed it. Of course there were a few days when things did not go quite right but I was always happy. I met many nice people and I saw all the wonderful countryside in England Scotland and Wales. Things are very different now, motorways and the need for extreme alertness at all times. The standard of driving is much lower than it used to be, and the selfishness of some drivers is appalling.

Hi Stitcher, fully agree, i did many years as a HGV mechanic so traveled around a bit on breakdowns and filling in when drivers were down and generally enjoyed every minute ,met some great characters & made some great friends but would not do it now,too many restrictions , bad drivers & little flexibility .
I held a CPC for many years but now i would have to keep renewing it , i felt bad when i gave up my class 1 a couple of years back but when i drive up the motorway i think WE had the best years ( even when you had no heater ).

Hi both,