• Welcome to this forum Guest. We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team

Johnny Carroll - RIP

mbenne

master brummie
Sad News. Johnny Carroll, comedian and entertainer has died.

Fond memories of him appearing at the New Cresta Club, Solihull in the 70s where I worked as a part time spotlight operator.
Quite a shock as he seemed lively and chatty as usual when I spoke to him at a New Years Eve do I attended at The Field House, Solihull.

RIP Johnny

jmadone

master brummie
I remember seeing him several times at various clubs around the city. A very funny man. Sorry to hear this sad news.

Robert Ensor (bob)

master brummie
O my God I've known Johnny Carroll Over 50 years he lived in Edenhurst Road I could see his house from mine in Longbridge he was a friend of my pops, my pop was in the motor trade and would perform some work for Johnny
Johnny had a car lot on the right hand side just passed the bus garage heading up to the cinema in Selly Oak, back in the mid 70,s I would service his white Jaguar XJ6
My pop and I were just talking about him on Sunday.
Edit,. The road was Chapel Lane and car lot is a used car sales patch.

Last edited:

Robert Ensor (bob)

master brummie
So li called my pop yesterday and gave him the bad news so we had a little walk down memory lane
So I hope this brings a smile, he was under a no contact order and for some reason he went knocking on his x wife's front door, when the door opened some guy was standing there in a dressing gown and it went down hill from there.

Elmdon Boy

master brummie