• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team
  • HI folks the server that hosts the site completely died including the Hdd's and backups.
    Luckily i create an offsite backup once a week! this has now been restored so we have lost a few days posts.
    im still fixing things at the moment so bear with me and im still working on all images 90% are fine the others im working on now
    we are now using a backup solution

H W Wards Lathe Makers, Selly Oak. Any ex Apprentices out there?

Hi
I was an apprentice at Selly Oak in 1964 -1969 then worked in R&D on the 10D Lathe til 1972 when 3day week kicked in.... then left & Joined Bham Social services.
John Forth ( then known as Lofty as 6ft 6" tall ) [email protected]

I am Malcolm Southon and was an apprentice at HW Ward from 1955-1960 I became an technical representative for Almco Co Ltd marketimg metal finishing equipment . I was transferred to the USA in 1977 then started my own company in 1980 as Superfine Co. Ltd. and we are in business today with seventeen employees, operating out of Osprey , Florida., USA

Hi I’m Alan Hall I was an apprentice at HW Ward blackpole 1965-71 are there any other ex apprentices from my era out there

Never an apprentice at Ward, however, I'm quite familiar with the product. I had a Ward 3 & 4 in my shop for a few years...
Dave A