• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team
  • HI folks the server that hosts the site completely died including the Hdd's and backups.
    Luckily i create an offsite backup once a week! this has now been restored so we have lost a few days posts.
    im still fixing things at the moment so bear with me and im still working on all images 90% are fine the others im working on now
    we are now using a backup solution

Gupwell Look ups please

PattiW

knowlegable brummie
Hi I'm an ex pat Brummie living in Cornwall but I have a lot of family connections in Birmingham.

I'm new to this so hope someone can help. I have found the following IGI records and am hoping that I can get some more info (I have no idea what other info might be on the parish records) from St Martin's Parish records.
Emma Sarah Gupwell Birth 15 Oct 1834, Christening 28 Feb 1837, St Martins

William Gupwell Birth 27 Feb 1810, Christening 11 Oct 1810, St Martins

John Gupwell, Ann Steel Marriage 28 Mar 1803, St Martins

I think Emma Gupwell is my gt gt grandmother. I've found what I hope is the right family on 1851 Census but can find nothing on 1841 Census.

Be grateful for any info or suggestions. Thank you

these are the records from st. martins.
emma sarah dr. of william and mary gupwell b. 15.10.1834 chr 28.2.1837
catherine sarah dr. of william and mary gupwell b. 15.10.1836 chr. 28.2.1837

abode was new town row and fathers occ. wire weaver

william son of john and ann gupwell b. 27.2.1810 chr. 11.10.1810

no other info.

john gupwell marr ann steel 28.3.1803 they were bachelor and spinster. witness william taylor.

sorry not much more than you already know.