• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team

Delta Wire Adderley Street Deritend previously United Non Ferrous metal company.

JohnCash

I worked as an apprentice from 1968 to 1976, it was a good place to work, it closed down in early 1970s I think and some employees moved on to Delta in West Bromwich.
It would be good to here off anyone who worked there.

Hi John, I worked shifts in the Lab here in 67/68, so I must have been in my early 20's then.
I remember that it was a really nice place to work as everyone was so happy & friendly. The offices and building themselves were also nice and pleasant. I can only recall that the chap in charge of us in the Lab was Arthur Daniels, and one of the people on shifts that I worked with was Dave Grayland. (Tranferred to Delta Metals later)
Unfortunately management decided to reduce the number of people on a shift from 3 to 2, so as one of the last people to arrive I was offered a job as 'floater' on days, covering for people who were sick or who wanted a day off. This invariably meant that every Friday night I got called to do night shift! You can imagine how this affected my bio-rhythm after a couple of months, hence I managed to get a transfer to the Lab at the Delta in Dartmouth Street - see my recent post under the Delta Metals forum.

Hi John, I worked shifts in the Lab here in 67/68, so I must have been in my early 20's then.