• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team

Cemetery search

nzjrc

knowlegable brummie
Hi, Newbie here, just found this site yesterday. Bit of a long shot but was wondering if anyone recognises this cemetery my great grandad is buried in, in 1937, pictured here in 1967. He lived in Washwood Heath Road, if that's any help, but I have never been able to find any record of his burial on any cemetery site so far. Obviously, there must be a record somewhere, the grave is big enough! Thanks for any help, Jane

Attachments

• Grave.jpg
    Grave.jpg
    143 KB · Views: 39
hi and welcome...could you give us the name of your grandad as we maybe able to find some burial records online for you is that his grave in the foreground of your photo

lyn

Yes, sorry, whoever took the photo missed a bit! His name is William James Whately Haddrell, 1870-1937 b Wiltshire. As far as I know, I have all the records of him off Ancestry but this one eludes me. Thank you!

great thanks leave it with us ..no promises but some of our members maybe able to find out where he is buried...fingers crossed...oh do you have his death cert to confirm exactly where he died...

great maurice so your grandad is at yardley which makes sense if he lived in washwood heath

lyn

In the background of the photo it looks as if there are allotments - with corrugated metal sheds? There used to be allotments on the one side of the cemetery but they now have houses on them.

great thanks leave it with us ..no promises but some of our members maybe able to find out where he is buried...fingers crossed...oh do you have his death cert to confirm exactly where he died...