• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team
  • HI folks the server that hosts the site completely died including the Hdd's and backups.
    Luckily i create an offsite backup once a week! this has now been restored so we have lost a few days posts.
    im still fixing things at the moment so bear with me and im still working on all images 90% are fine the others im working on now
    we are now using a backup solution

Can anyone decipher this?

Looks like that to me as well. And searching with all the details available from scan - district, subdistrict, enumeration and address - results in Ada & Charles Thomas Butler and William Sullivan.

Hello, I am new to this page but would welcome any confirmation about Berners Street where my Grandfathers family, including my mother grew up. They lived at 143 Berners Street and i was taken on a Saturday afternoon to visit him. He passed away in 1954 when I was five.
We went on the Outer Circle bus No 8 and used to go into the back gate. From my and my elder sisters memory the house was NOT at the bottom of the hill ( shown on the photos and last house numbered 155) but from my grandfathers house front, you looked down the hill so 143 appears to have been the other end…? Can anyone through any light on this. My grandfathers brother lived in Clifford Street and my mom went to Lozells Street school.

Many thanks

Kath

Hello, I am new to this page but would welcome any confirmation about Berners Street where my Grandfathers family, including my mother grew up. They lived at 143 Berners Street and i was taken on a Saturday afternoon to visit him. He passed away in 1954 when I was five.