• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team
  • HI folks the server that hosts the site completely died including the Hdd's and backups.
    Luckily i create an offsite backup once a week! this has now been restored so we have lost a few days posts.
    im still fixing things at the moment so bear with me and im still working on all images 90% are fine the others im working on now
    we are now using a backup solution

Broughton

CaroleA649

proper brummie kid
Hi, I am fairly new to this outside of Ancestry. I am hoping that there are more of my extended family still out there.
My G-Grandfather was George Broughton, his wife was Sarah Probin, and is on record as living at Berners Street (#7). Associated names are Gee, Allen and Leonard. It appears that she may have been a serial bride.

I have established that my grandfather moved to the family settled in the Oldham area, presumably for the mining and factory work, but I am happier being affiliated to my Brummy heritage rather than the Lancastrian.

If anyone can and is willing to be associated with me, I would love to hear from you.

I see that George and Sarah had a number of children before they were married, possibly while Sarah was still married to Charles Gee.

Also appears the George Broughton was from Leicestershire.

And Sarah appears to be the daughter of George Probin and Sarah Hampson.

You may already know all this but John Broughton like his father George was a brick maker.

John's mother Sarah Probin was married 3 times - Charles Gee, George Broughton and John Leonard. She may still have been married to Charles Gee when she married George Broughton.

Sarah appears to have had children with all 3 husbands...