• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team
  • HI folks the server that hosts the site completely died including the Hdd's and backups.
    Luckily i create an offsite backup once a week! this has now been restored so we have lost a few days posts.
    im still fixing things at the moment so bear with me and im still working on all images 90% are fine the others im working on now
    we are now using a backup solution

Bromsgrove Street 1907

Molly_MacD

master brummie
Hello all,

I'm based in Western Canada, so I need to preface my request with the fact that I have zero knowledge of Birmingham (well I watched a couple of episodes of Peaky Blinders but that's it).

I've recently been able to track down my British Home child great-grandmother to her sending "orphanage" Middlemore. I've been working with a historian regarding that, and have been able to track her to Bromsgrove Street in 1907.

It appears her parents were raided for operating a disorderly house at 7 court, 3 house Bromsgrove street.

My question is what would this area have been like? Would this have been a back to back house? What types of shops/pubs would have been near by? I can't seem to find any information on that address and looking at google maps street view I suspect, much has been demolished rebuilt.

So any thoughts on what i would have been like growing up in this area as a 7 year old, or even as my gg-grandparents?

Attached is the article that was enclosed with her admittance to Middlemore -

Attachments

• save the children.png
    save the children.png
    905.6 KB · Views: 42