• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team
  • HI folks the server that hosts the site completely died including the Hdd's and backups.
    Luckily i create an offsite backup once a week! this has now been restored so we have lost a few days posts.
    im still fixing things at the moment so bear with me and im still working on all images 90% are fine the others im working on now
    we are now using a backup solution

Birmingham in 1970s

PaulE

master brummie
First of all, I am a newbie here so apologies if I have posted this message in the wrong part of the site. This is my first post!

There was a programme on Radio 4 this morning about a series of short documentary films made in the late 1970's, promoting cities including Birmingham. Basically they were poking fun at Birmingham (and the other cities) as they were in the 1970's, as well as making a joke about the films.

Someone from the BBC has kindly posted the Birmingham film onto YouTube:

[ame]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GxZ1xn2ml10[/ame]

Having watched it, I see nothing wrong with it. It is a celebration of both the old and new (1970's) Birmingham, and although tastes have changed and much of the Birmingham I grew up with has now been demolished, in the 1970's I believe we were proud of New St Station, the Bull Ring Shopping Centre and Spaghetti Junction etc. Actually I think I prefer it to some of the wacky buildings we have to look at now!

I would be very interested to know what other people think; was Birmingham in the 1970's as bad as some say?

Regards

Paul

Welcome Paul. thanks for finding that film. I think it is a good representation of the City at that time.