• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team
  • HI folks the server that hosts the site completely died including the Hdd's and backups.
    Luckily i create an offsite backup once a week! this has now been restored so we have lost a few days posts.
    im still fixing things at the moment so bear with me and im still working on all images 90% are fine the others im working on now
    we are now using a backup solution

Birmingham City Parks Dept.

mw0njm.

A Brummie Dude
1n 1960/70s i worked as a tractor driver,i mowed the grass,in parks and allotments

Last edited:
I also worked as a tractor driver for the parks in the mid seventies but from Billesley depot and originally on the allotments ploughing and rotovating, I then moved over to the mowing grass and had both fergies and Fords, and was the first one to use a hydraulic driven mowers. Didnt move flowers but had the honour of collecting the elephant pooh from the circus when they were opposite the leyland truck works. Remember the Harrier jet landing on Billesley common for a demo,cant remember what it was for but the red arrows appeared as well

AKA GW1XOT and F5VNF

hi.and ta for reply.what a great job it was.i had a front end loader on mine,and had to shift the rubbish,from the dif parks and allotments.:ie the old air raid shelter iron

My brother worked there as well and he had the front end loader which had a concrete block on the back which just had two hooks on it and used to hang on a bar acros the link arms and was forever dropping off at the most awkward moments usually in the middle of the bristol road. Great days

great stuff.i never used the block.i had a trailer,due to having a full licence.i could use both.