• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team

ATV Studios Broad Street

Wasnt crossroads recorded in Bradford St, the same building at the Castaways club. I was a telephone engineer in my youth and worked on the offices there

Wasnt crossroads recorded in Bradford St, the same building at the Castaways club. I was a telephone engineer in my youth and worked on the offices there

I think I remember reading somewhere that they had a rehearsal rooms there, but I don't think it was ever recorded there.

No they rehearsed at the building in Bradford St but they recorded Crossroads at the ATV studios in Bridge St

Was this building once the 'Astoria' cinema, I remember going there and the nearby 'Aston Cross' cinema quite often in the 50's ???? Eric

I think I remember reading somewhere that they had a rehearsal rooms there, but I don't think it was ever recorded there.

In my lunch hour after shopping in Town I used to catch the bus back to the office in Bradford St and sonetimes Noele Gordon and Jane Rossington were on the bus doing the very same thing. So I presume they were doing rehearsals in Bradford St. Viv.

I was an actress on Crossroads, so I can confirm, that we rehearsed (and yes we did), in Bradford Street, and recorded on Broad Street.

Yes in deed eric and jennyann it was most in deed it was the astoria picure house and i will never forget it
i live along the road from it and my aunty maud smart was working there in the kiosk for years she lived in white house street
and that particular day in 1953 right outside those very doors i was knocked down by a hit and run driver of a car