• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team
  • HI folks the server that hosts the site completely died including the Hdd's and backups.
    Luckily i create an offsite backup once a week! this has now been restored so we have lost a few days posts.
    im still fixing things at the moment so bear with me and im still working on all images 90% are fine the others im working on now
    we are now using a backup solution

Arthur Flanner

granjay

Brummie babby
I was told my Geatgrandfather Arthur Flanner (born 1855) was killed in an explosion at the gas works. Can anyone help with information He was a glassblower by trade.:confused2:

Last edited by a moderator:
Gass works saltly

Thank you both for the information. At least I know now it was not this explosion which killed Arthur Flanner and must be what I have often suspected, an explosion in the Glass works where he was employed unfortunately I have no idea which one.
icon4.gif

There were quite a few Birmingham glass companies and the bggest, if you count Smethwick as Birmingham based, was Chance Brothers. Other notable companies were Osler, Bacchus, John Walsh Walsh and Phoenix.

If you ahve more details on dates and palces, I might be able to suggest likely companies.

Looking through my notes, I see this (my comments in [brackets]):
Messrs. Hawkes's, Sromsgrove [Bromsgrove?] Street, is the largest looking-glass manufactory in the world, more than 300 hands being employed on the premises. A fire which took place Jan. 8, 1879, destroyed nearly £12,000 worth of stock, the turnout of the establishment comprising all classes of mirrors, from those at 2. a dozen [2 shillings?] to £40 or £50 each.

Showell's Dictionary of Birmingham