• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team
  • HI folks the server that hosts the site completely died including the Hdd's and backups.
    Luckily i create an offsite backup once a week! this has now been restored so we have lost a few days posts.
    im still fixing things at the moment so bear with me and im still working on all images 90% are fine the others im working on now
    we are now using a backup solution

Anne Heywood (Violet Pretty) Book Project

Christopher Weedman

Brummie babby
My name is Dr. Christopher Weedman and I'm a professor of Film Studies at Kutztown University of Pennsylvania in the United States. I'm working with Birmingham-born actress Anne Heywood (originally named Violet Pretty) on a book about her career. A chapter of the book will focus on her early life growing up in Erdington.

Ms. Heywood has shared stories of her time growing up during World War II, as well as her years at Fentham Road Secondary Modern School for Girls and working as an usherette at the Palace Cinema in Erdington.

However, I would like to be able to flesh out this chapter with memories and additional details from people that knew her during this time. I would also be interested in locating more clippings and photos for the book project.

If anyone can help in any way, please feel free to respond to this thread or e-mail me at [email protected]

My mailing address is:

Dr. Christopher Weedman
P.O. Box 85
Slatedale, Pennsylvania 18079
U.S.A.

Hello Christopher