• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team

Amy Jones

ellie

master brummie
This is a needle in a haystack search. I am seeking info on someone with very little details and a very common name.

I am looking for info about an "Amy Jones" family folklore says she was born between 1931 to 1933 possibly in Wales. I did find some details that matched this, but the death details did not seem to match. I have no knowledge of her parent's names.

She married Raymond Bertie Wilkins in 1950. I found record of them living at Thurlestone or Thelbridge Road Birmingham in 1955. I think Raymond had a large family also living in the area.

They also migrated her to Australia in 1955 with 2 children, Raymond and Jacqueline.

It is believed that Amy may have died in the late 1970's in Australia, but I can find no record of her death.

I am wondering if anybody has knowledge of Amy or her husband. My next step is to order their wedding certificate to see if her date of birth is listed and her parents or place of birth.

Many thanks

Ellie

It would be Thurlestone Road in Longbridge. Not sure if this is any help as you may have this already, but the electoral rolls for 1955 show that at 1 Thurlestone road there was Raymond & Winifred Jones, together with Raymond & Amy Wilkins ,( & Francis Murtagh)

Ancestry lists them at 1 Thelbridge Road but that's from the transcript so is possibly wrong and they do run off each other - Richard H & Winifred H Jones.

Richard H Jones married Winifred H John - registered Jun qtr 1928, Pontardawe.

Amy Jones birth registered Sep qtr 1931, Pontardawe.