• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team
  • HI folks the server that hosts the site completely died including the Hdd's and backups.
    Luckily i create an offsite backup once a week! this has now been restored so we have lost a few days posts.
    im still fixing things at the moment so bear with me and im still working on all images 90% are fine the others im working on now
    we are now using a backup solution

Allen - Birmingham jewellers 1700s- 1900s

Perpetuum

Hi everyone

I'm a newbie on here and new to the forum lark too. Hope you are all well!

I am researching my maternal grandmother's Allen family who lived and worked around the jewellery Quarter in Birmingham, then later in Aston. Here's a quick direct lineage to let you know who I'm researching:

James Allen c 1794 m. Mary Ann (Evans - I think!). He was a gilt toy maker.

John James Allen 1833-1901 m. Lucy Jane Page 1833-1882. He was a silversmith.

George Charles Allen 1856-c1921 m. Mary Ann Thistlewood 1860-?. He was a jeweller.

George Thomas Allen 1881- 1931 m. Mary Ann Hathaway 1879- 1926. He worked in a coach works as a wood carver.

Florence Beatrice Allen 1908- 1965 born in Aston. She's my great grandmother. They moved to Plymouth in about 1913. My grandmother was born there in 1932, and moved to Newcastle Upon Tyne when her father left the Navy.

I have consulted the Census collections 1841-1911, and have several BMD records too. I am hoping that someone else is researching this line, in particular the exact identity of James and Mary at the top of my tree. My gran will be 80 this year and I am hoping to tweak my research for her.