• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team

Search results

1. V

handsworth and other memories

Hi What year were they at Woodville school, I was there from abt 1947 -1949/50 I lived in Lawnswood FGrove off Island Rd From Valerieexbrummie
  2. V

Hockley Hill

Hi Just found the picture above, My grandfathers place must have ben the next one, I have downloaded this one thank you so much, maybe someone somewhere will have a picture further down. valerieexbrummie. I am still learning to find my way around the forum
  3. V

Hockley Hill

Hi Thank you so much for showing me on your map the building for Charles Sanders. it must have been demolished before 1963 as my parents had moved so I didn't pass it. I remember seeing that it had gone abt the last time I went to Handsworth. I hope someone will have a photo of that...
  4. V

Hockley Hill

Re: hockley hil Hi . thanks so much for the pics of . do you have a pic of the Hi to you all gt pics, does anyone have a pic of the left hand side of the hill looking towards Handsworth, just below the Post office, my father and Grandfather had a jewellery business, with there name on...
  5. V

Handsworth - Island Road

Does anyone remember a margaret griffiths she had a sister Jean they lived in Idland Rd in the 1940's and 50's valerieexbrummie
  6. V

Handsworth Dairies

very interesting. I lived right by the daries from 1939 to 1958 I remember fetching 6 pennyworth of ice cream in a cup from the shop. and until they built a wall, I could watch the loading and unloading from my bedroom window. I went to school with Elizabeth White,1947 to 1950 do you...
  7. V

Newspapers : From Birmingham Post 150 years ago