• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team

Search results

1. A

Writing up family history

Hi Would anyone have any tips please on how to go about writing up family history. I have collected quite a few records from Ancestry but have no idea how to present the information in a way that makes sense. Do I write a page on each person, each family etc. I have no idea where to start...
  2. A

Sawdust dealer

Hi Would anyone know about Sawdust dealers in Birmingham from 1920's to 1940's please. Best wishes Alison
  3. A

1915 Kelly´s Directory of Birmingham

Hi I am quite new to using Trade Directories and I'm probably being dim, but I'm not sure why Great Hampton Row would be listed as 151 Constitution Hill or Great King Street as 163 Hockley Hill? Best wishes Alison
  4. A

Dishley baptised twice

Hi How common would it be to be baptised twice. Once July 1872 second March 1873. The same child and parent names. Same Church. Same area (no specific address given) Same father's occupation. No death recorded for First child of that name.
  5. A

5 Hampton Terrace, Birmingham

Hi Would anyone know where this was in 1925 please? :)
  6. A

Back to Backs, Courts and Houses and Street Names

Hi I am trying to locate someone in the census, James Callow, by searching different addresses the person may be in. However I am a bit confused as to how the houses were numbered etc. For instance I am looking for 2 house 16 Great Hampton Street but sometimes the address has been written as...
  7. A

The Genealogist