• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team

Search results

1. Michael_Ingram

The Girl From Guildford Street

Good to hear from you Gina, awful to learn that you caught the virus, hope you are fully recovered. Look forward to the next book although I had left Birmingham by about 1967. But many of my family we’re still there. I must have been about 7 when I had my tonsils done
  2. Michael_Ingram

The Girl From Guildford Street

Just finished reading Tales from Guildford Street by Emelia Williams (Gina). A terrific read for someone who lived over the road from her and was friends with her next-door neighbours. Amazing amount of unexpected memory triggers; Castle Vale – as a student I worked there in my holidays when it...
  3. Michael_Ingram

Hudson's book shops

i don’t know of any coffee shops in bookshops in the 50s. The first bookshop I ever saw with one in the early 60s was in Amsterdam. I never saw Hudsons after the mid 60s and I can only remember one in London but I think there were a couple more
  4. Michael_Ingram

Garrison Lane Pubs

I visited the Garrison quite often. My sister and her husband lived nearby in Barwell Road where they bought their first house for £300 pounds. He did have his own business As an electrical engineer.
  5. Michael_Ingram

Pub Quiz Time Again

Agree
  6. Michael_Ingram

A TRIBUTE TO OLD BIRMINGHAM

The same shoes but a different term I believe
  7. Michael_Ingram

My hair is a bit ginger; anyway, everything was black and white in those days
  8. Michael_Ingram