• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team

Bordesley Green Grammar Technical School

I'm new to this but what a great picture. I was there 1958-1963. I remember most of this lot. 'Sid' Screen was our form teacher, nice chap but hopeless at keeping control. Unlike some of them who used to scare the life out of me. 'Mole' showed my chemistry shortcomings up so badly in front of class that I started to learn it by rote. Eventually I became quite good at it & ended up with a career in it. Anybody remember Grimmett throwing poor homework books out the window into the quadrangle? David Quick
I'm also new to this forum, this being my first post. I started @ BG in the Easter of 1959 ( I thnk), Mr.Green was our form ( 3E) master. Thank you to everyone who contributed to naming the teachers, as I have one of these panoramic photo's which my grandchildren find interesting, looking for me in the crowd - I must say I have difficulty now as well. Reference the previous replies concerning Killer Gilbert, I took Metalwork at A-Level and I recall one of the project being to make a hand held vice, from an O-Level Technical Drawing question. This involved smelting down carburetter float chambers and casting the aluminium base, having first learned what a cope & drag were and actually making the long screw on a lathe. My regret being that I've lost this at some point during one of my house moves.