• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team

Recent content by smithy82/3

1. smithy82/3

GEC WITTON WORKS

Hi there, Memories, well, I worked as a Welder firstly in the cabinets depts. my mate used to shut the shop down and test the insulators while we were at lunch over the road in the cafe, then moved into the Bedplate dept. where we welded bedplates for the big stators to sit upon. Living in...
  2. smithy82/3

A Play On Loco Numbers

G'day, I have just caught up with a video? YouTube, of a steam train coming into New St. station Birmingham, it's The Earl Of ??????? couldn't quite catch the name, it was full and just looked like a normal service as I remembered them in years gone by, No. 5043, do you know if this is a one...
  3. smithy82/3

Tamworth field trainspotting

G'day Trainees, What good memories, from my school days, 1947/50, We were adventurist in them days and would set off from Doidge road, on our rickety old trikes hoping to snare some of the loco numbers on the Main lines through Tamworth 14mile down the Kingsbury road, the trip was well worth it...
  4. smithy82/3

Old tram routes in birmingham

G'day, Cookie, Have you any info of this Tram/Bus? I came across it browsing old pics, looks like Stockland green to Short Heath We have in Adelaide one simular it's called The O'Bahn but it runs on a guided track system most of the way once out of the city. Thanks..
  5. smithy82/3

Electric Trams

Thanks for the memory stitcher, happy days swinging on the turn around pole, at the short heath terminus.o_O:eek: with the clippie making sure I didn't let go!;)
  6. smithy82/3

Brum traffic images from 1960s onwards ?