• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team

Can anyone identify or make any educated guesses about this gentleman?

rabbit_biscuit

knowlegable brummie
I realise this is a very long shot (and please forgive me if this is posted in the wrong category; I'm a newbie here), but can anyone make any educated guesses about who this gentleman is, or what his age, occupation, etc etc might have been?

The only information I have is the photographer's name on the back -- From the studio of J. Sunderland, 10, The Arcade, Birmingham. I'm presuming the photo was taken some time between 1880 to 88?

He does appear to be wearing a kind of uniform? With an unusual sort of button or badge? Or perhaps it's just a very nice peacoat. Well, if anyone has any ideas, I'm very much obliged :)

Attachments

• rrr.jpg
    rrr.jpg
    143.6 KB · Views: 129
I wonder if he is wearing a police or tram worker uniform ? Maybe around age 40- 50 ? But beards can be very aging ! Viv

just beat me to it viv...i also wondered if it was a police or tram worker...i would lean towards tram but cant be certain

lyn

I wonder if he is wearing a police or tram worker uniform ? Maybe around age 40- 50 ? But beards can be very aging ! Viv
Yes they can haha.. Thank you so much! You see, I think I might actually have a photograph of this same gentleman when he was younger; he looked to be in his 30s there, and going by the photographer dates, this could be 25 to 30 years later.

I did think of policeman, or even something military.. I wish I could find out if that button has any significance.

just a feeling no more than that....i wonder if you could post the other photo you have please also is this man a family member...thanks