• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team

Unable to access a site I have been using for many years, following a Windows update.

senoraruz

master brummie
I have been using Rootschat for many years & in fact I was using it until around 4pm yesterday. Windows did one of it's wonderful updates at about 5 pm &when I tried to log into Rootschat this morning, access was denied, saying that the site was unsafe.
Please has anyone any idea how I can solve this problem.

Are you using an Anitvirus program or just Windows Defender? If the latter, click the defender icon on the taskbar notification area (a shield) to open the security page. If any of the sections show a yellow warning, click on it and you may (!) get the option to ignore the warning

That's correct, but the bottom button on the security page enables TLS 1.0 & 1.1 - press that and you can still access the page with Firefox at any rate. However, this does give the warning that this may be only a temporary solution. It's up to Rootschat to remedy this a.s.a.p.

I'm sure they're aware of the problem and I can't find a contact email, but you could drop them a line to:-

RootsChat.com,
Europa House,
Bury,
Lancashire, BL9 5BT

Maurice :cool:

Last edited:
I have been using Rootschat for many years & in fact I was using it until around 4pm yesterday. Windows did one of it's wonderful updates at about 5 pm &when I tried to log into Rootschat this morning, access was denied, saying that the site was unsafe.

An excellent example of Windows looking after you by limiting you going to web sites that are perhaps "risky".

Well done Microsoft.