• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team

Orford St

G

gemima

hi,
on the 1891 and 1901 census i have family living on orford st does anyone know where this was?

thanks

Hi Gemima, I think there is an Orford Grove in handsworth, Orford Road may well have been demolished. What Parish is it listed under?
Macca

Civil Parish: Birmingham Ecclesiastical Parish: All Saints Place: Birmingham -Warwickshire Enumeration District: 31

apologies I am new to looking at these details, still not sure what is what.

aaaahhhhhh!!! that makes sense! thanks is that where Enumeration District: 31 is? digbeth thanks

There is an Orford Road listed in All Saints district, what name are you looking for? I'll check the electoral roll for you.

1912-1939 27 Orford Road Charles Brettell, wife Annie Brettell. Orford Road is listed as being off Park Road. I think it probably is Handsworth.

Hi Gemima and welcome to the forum.
Enumeration district 31 covered the area around Lodge Road and Whitmore St.There is a Ford Rd off Whitmore St/Lodge Rd which is in the Hockley area of Birmingham and still exists.

thanks for that all.... park road follows as a possible as in 1904 when they married they both put 258 park road...... was living together allowed back then!?!?!?!!!!

he was a silversmith/ jeweller on the marriage certificate and census so it would make sense they live in hockley?

Hi gemima,

It could have been a house of multiple occupancy where people rented a room, today it we'd call it a bedsit. The online electoral roll doesn't cover 1904 but if you could get to central library you could find out.
Macca