• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team

Hope Lodge, Edgbaston

Hello All. I am interested in locating any records or information about Hope Lodge in the late 1940s. I was born Nancy Jones at the Dudley Road hospital 8 December 1948. My mother and I were then sent to Hope Lodge. I was adopted from there in March 1949. I've since reunited with my birth mother and she told me a bit about her time at the home. I would love to find any photos of that time period. I'm curious to know how many babies there were at the time I was a resident, how many staff members, what it was like, etc. If anyone knows anything I would be very grateful. A previous post mentioned the Fostering services at Tamebridge and I will try there. I have been to the Birmingham library, but as was said earlier, they have few public records and any private ones (I believe there are daily reports and other records) are closed for 100 years. I'm not sure if that is 100 years from the date it opened, or 100 years from the date of the baby's birthday! I would dearly love to know what the first three months of my life were like! Thank you, Sylvia

My husband was born in Hope Lodge in 1944 his birth name was Graham Dean Peckover his mother lived in the Harborne area. He Was adopted in 1944. He has left it a long time to search. Does anyone recognise the name. Mother Mary Elizibeth.

Last edited:
Hi there.