• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team

researching children's homes

Helen G

Almost a Brummie
This is complicated but stick with it......

My sister-in-law's friend is trying to find out more about her Mother and her Mother's family. However, her Mum grew up in a children's home and apart from her father's name and date of birth, Mum can provide no other information.

I have managed to find the father's birth and 1911 census records and death on Ancestry, that was the easy bit.

But, I have no experience of researching Children's Home records. The Children's home she was in is probably long gone, has anyone any idea if and where I might be able to locate any records. Would, for example, they would be held by the local record office or if the Children's Home was part of a charity would the charity still hold them?

Given that her Mum is still alive, should she contact her local Social Services? Would they be able to help?

Any advice fom someone who's done similar research would be very welcome

Thanks
Helen

Hi Helen,

Best to post Fathers name & dob & 1911 reference, Folks can then assist your quest (on behalf of Sis-in-law's friend)
Could you also put in her Moms details dob/marriage etc for Her Mother,,the more info you can share the better your responses will be.

Childrens Homes/Charitable Houses/Barnados/Father Hudsons,,,absolute multitude of "options" for searching so Area's/Years are helpful too.
Good luck John

Dr Barnado's Homes "Ever Open Door" premises at 23-24 Digbeth, pictured in 1900. ("An Ever Open Door For Orphan & Waif Children").
31563875_2027054693974619_3490407582294605824_n.jpg