• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team

Phyllis Nicklin's Working Life

Vivienne14

Kentish Brummie Moderator
Staff member
There are several threads on the Forum about Phyllis Nicklin's photographic work, her background and her legacy. But none of these show her day-to -day work. Here are a few glimpses of that work. They tell us that, not only did she lecture at Birmingham University, but she also delivered courses around the Midlands at weekends and during summer breaks.

The first shows a rare (albeit poor quality) image of Phyllis at a Coventry Historical meeting. Viv.

image.jpeg
image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

thats very interesting info viv thanks..as a keen photographer i bet phyllis was not very impressed with that photo of herself

lyn

Can you view these Mort ?

Lyn - be nice to see the photo in the original newspaper as I'm sure it would be better than the one scanned online. Viv

Attachments

• image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    89.8 KB · Views: 12
  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    47.7 KB · Views: 11
  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    36.9 KB · Views: 11
  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    113.9 KB · Views: 11
  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    84.2 KB · Views: 10
Phyllis' popularity as a lecturer was such that her University lectures had to be held in the largest lecture theatre. And she was certainly in demand further afield. Viv.

image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg

There is something technically strange with this thread ...
I can see the images and the thumbnails expand when I am not logged in but
cannot see them when I am logged in ... I get error messages.
Using PC and also iPad, same results on both.
I have never seen that before ...:)