• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team
  • HI folks the server that hosts the site completely died including the Hdd's and backups.
    Luckily i create an offsite backup once a week! this has now been restored so we have lost a few days posts.
    im still fixing things at the moment so bear with me and im still working on all images 90% are fine the others im working on now
    we are now using a backup solution

City Centre pubs

carruthers31

Brummie babby
I was a student at Aston University 1975-1978 and regularly drank in the city centre but cannot remember the names of all the pubs. Remember the obvious ones like the Shakespeare, Temple bar and the Midland hotel but there are lots of names I have forgot. Could you please look up for me in the 1974 Kelly's the city centre pubs which are listed. In particular I remember one in 1975 which had a big banner outside which said " Hey Dublin, the Fonz says cool it". I think this pub was near the new street/ corporation street junction but I cannot be certain. Any help would be much appreciated.

The problem is that there are just too many having said that here are a few from the 74 directory
Bogarts beer Keller 68 New St,
Brooks Vaults 51 Jamaica Row,
Bull Ring Tavern Digbeth,
Crusader 29 Auchileck Sq Broad St,
Eagle & Tun 46 Canal St,
Gilded Cage Stevenson St,
Golden Eagle Hill St,
Hen & Chickens 27 Constitution Hill,
Iron Horse Stevenson St,
Jester Scala Hse, Holloway Cicus,
Johnson Ben (The) 275/279 Coporation St,
Mulberry Bush Rotunda New St,
Old Bulls Head 80/81 Digbeth,
Parasol Hill St,
Parisian 6 Cannon St,
Royal George Digbeth 5,
Royal Mail Pinfold St,
Trocadero 18 Temple St,

There are many many more