• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team

Park Lane...Aston

Image623.jpg

wonderful pic tospsy...great to see HP in it...topsy could you keep yours eyes open for any of potters hill please...

thanks

lyn

Hi All,

It is no secret that I am a retired police officer. Whenever I see Park Lane mentioned it reminds me of an incident in Park Lane which I think I will now share. It is absolutely true

It was about 2.30am and I was walking my beat down Park Lane when suddenly the quiet of the night was disturbed by shouts for help from one of the back houses. I went up the entry and saw a woman and her son and daughter shouting from an upstairs window. I also saw immediately that the house was on fire downstairs and it was too dangerous to enter. Knowing that a ladder was kept in the next entry I went to collect it after asking a neighbour to ring 999 for the Fire Brigade from the telephone box near Aston Cross. (This was before the police carried radios)

I placed the ladder in position and climbed up to help the young lady down. I returned and helped the young man down. I then went back for the mother who was holding a mongrel dog. She refused to come down without the dog (who had alerted them to the fire by barking downstairs) I had no option but to carry the dog down before going back to help the mother.